Official Day 1 – Continuing the “Closet Cleanse”

I missed all the New Year’s Eve excitement last night – sick with a sinus infection, and in bed by 10 p.m. (central time), up at 1 a.m. when my dogs were barking because of all the firework noise outside.  Up again at 4:30 this morning to start 2013 off right! – with a hot cup of coffee.  🙂

I would say I made it through only about 1/2 of the master bedroom closet over the last couple of days, so today, I forced myself to finish off the rest of the closet.  I honestly think I must have some form of Adult ADD, I get projects started, and then head off to do something else…  Focus – must stay focused!  Which is why I started this blog.  🙂

Anyway, today this is what I found:

4 really nice sweaters  2 (a simple style that never goes out of style) that I never wore – yep – tags still on them.  I like them so much that I hung them up and will be wearing them in the near future.

Organized all my blouses, tops, etc. and will be getting rid of at least 10 of those.  Only 3 of them will make onto Ebay, the rest are off to Goodwill this afternoon.  Now all of my blouses are organized by color, and also by sleeve size (long sleeve, short sleeve, no sleeve); Yes, I can get a bit carried away with this organization stuff – which is probably why it takes me so darn LONG to make it through the process.

About 1/2 dozen scarves that I used to wear a lot – I still like them, and seeing that it is winter, I think I will be wearing/using them, so into the wash they went for a freshing-up.  If I don’t use them, I will put them on Ebay.

How in the world did I get SO MANY pant hangers that I NEVER use??  Nice ones, the plastic kind from the store… off to Goodwill with all of those!

A couple more white bed sheets that I never use anymore.  While I could donate them, I will keep them for my neighbor’s daughter to use for angel outfits for their annual church play next year.   I also came across two striped flat bed sheets I used to use a lot.  They are now Goodwill bound.

A stack of family pictures in frames that I put in there a few years back when I was having my hardwood floors replaced.  No, they are not going to Goodwill!  Can’t wait to dust them off and put them back on the fireplace mantel.

Well, I’m still not done with the closet – I have a short dresser in there that I use to store hair dryer, curling iron(s), hair clip stuff, perfumes, and more.  ( Now you see why this House Cleansing will take me 365 days?? !! )  That will be a fun project to start on this afternoon… Lots of stuff will be “cleansed” out of there!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

2 responses to “Official Day 1 – Continuing the “Closet Cleanse”

  1. I just stumbled across your blog, as I started a similar one today to keep my focused on cleaning too. Tonight I am tackling my closet as well….we’ll see how it goes….

    • Thanks for finding and following my blog! I also have another blog eatwhatyouhave.wordpress.com where I try to eat what I have bought instead of eating out, or always going to the grocery store. I started it because, well, I was doing just that – grocery shopping and buying stuff that I then never ate.

      I will check out your blog too!