Day 36 – How to Conquer Clutter

The other day I came across a book that was given to me by an administrative assistant when I moved to San Francisco in the mid-90’s.  “How to Conquer Clutter”.  I laughed to myself, since I have been working on just that for the last month.  I also laughed as I flipped through the book and noted a comment that stated you should clean out a whole area (like your whole closet, or all your dresser drawers) and go through the stuff all at one time.  ARE YOU KIDDING ME!  That is so overwhelming of a task that if I had done that my whole house would look like a hurricane hit it!  AND… I would be sleeping on top of all those clothes… I much more like my idea of taking the time to go through a small area a day (a drawer, cabinet, shelf in a closet).  That provides one with a sense of accomplishment, a sense of completing something and not so overwhelming that once you pull things out of the chosen area you don’t know where to start to get it back into some sense of order.

Anyway – so, I did peruse through the book and noted some helpful things.  Along with my daily posts of decluttering, I will add a bit of something from the book.

Today – THE DEFINITION OF CLUTTER:

Clut-ter – To fill with scattered or disordered things that restrict movement or efficiency; a crowded or jumbled mass or accumulation; litter; disorder.  Or… All that STUFF you’ve got all over the place that everybody keeps telling you to get rid of.

Today I will conquer one section of my china cabinet.

Before:

DSCN3855

After:

DSCN3856

A little better organized…

what was purged?

These margarita glasses (plastic)

DSCN3857

Comments are closed.